Each spring, an outstanding student from each of the 6 east Cobb high schools, Wheeler, Pope, Lassiter, Kell, Walton and Sprayberry are recognized for their commitment to community service as well as their academic achievements with a $1000 scholarship. The student MUST be attending a Georgia institution of higher learning. The applications are released to the guidance counselors at each school in January to be completed and submitted by the end of March.

At our scholarship award dinner on May 14, 2019, we met 5 of our 7 scholarship students. They are amazing young people, full of energy, loads of personality, and ready to take on the world and start making a difference. Michelly Periera from Lassister HS plans to go to Mercer University. Faema Jusu from Wheeler HS is on her way to Augusta University. Katherine Mittleider graduates from Walton HS and will study at Ga Tech after a summer at Georgia Highlands. Lindsey Rhyne from Pope HS will  enter the University of Georgia this fall. Briana Thomas from Kell is attending Kennesaw State University. We didn’t get to meet Kimberly Povoa from Walton HS or Matthew  Starker from Sprayberry HS, but we do hope to see them before they leave for college. We are very proud that we could recognize their individual achievements and be a small part of their future success.